Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Residents who reside within the city limits of Chisago City, Lindstrom, North Branch or Wyoming need to apply at their respective police departments. All other Chisago County residents need to apply at the Chisago County Sheriff’s Office.
Show All Answers
You can obtain the application form from one of the local police departments, the Chisago County Sheriff’s Office or download an application from our website (LINK to Permit to Purchase / Transfer Application Form).
Permits must be renewed every 12 months.
Minnesota County Sheriff’s Offices in the county where you reside.
Minnesota Law allows you to carry a handgun in public, but the law does not stipulate whether that weapon must be concealed. A permit to carry also constitutes a permit to purchase.
Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
The fee is $80 and is valid for five (5) years. It authorizes unlimited purchases within that time period.
It is valid for five (5) years.
If you apply before your permit expires, the renewal fee is $50.
If you apply within 30 days from when your permit expired, the renewal fee is $60.
If you are over 30 days from when your permit expired, the renewal fee is $80.
A permit to carry that is issued in Chisago County is valid throughout Minnesota.